ODHA receives names of commissioner nominees; as Assembly passes six bills into laws - The Hope Newspapers

ODHA receives names of commissioner nominees; as Assembly passes six bills into laws

Admin 07 Aug, 2017 Assembly Watch


By Adekola Afolabi

Last week was the busiest week in the recent times in the Ondo State House of Assembly.

The House first received names of the 18 Commissioner nominees sent by the state Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, for confirmation.

The Clerk of the House, Mr. Bode Adeyelu, read the letter of the Governor containing the names of the 18 Commissioner nominees at a plenary sitting presided over by the Speaker of the Assembly, Rt. Hon. Bamidele, on Tuesday.

The Commissioner nominees are; Hon Toafiq Abdulsalam from Akoko North-East; Mr Rasheed Badmus from Akoko North-West; Prince Solagbade Amodeni, Akoko South-East; Otunba Adegboyega Adefarati, Akoko South-West; Mr Saka Yusuf Ogunleye, Akure North and Mrs. Omowumi Olatunji-Edet from Akure South.

Other names on the list include, Mr Ojogo Donald, Ese-Odo; Mr Yemi Olowolabi from Idanre; Dr. Wahab Adegbenro, Ifedore; Mr Funso Esan, Ilaje; Mr Wale Akinterinwa, Ile-Oluji Okeigbo; Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan, Irele and Alhaji Olurimisi Ismaila from Odigbo

The rest are, Mr Femi Agagu, Okitipupa; Prof. Bayonle Ademodi, Ondo East; Mrs Lola Fagbemi, Ondo West; Otunba Timilehin Adelegbe, Ose and Kola Olawoye Esq, from Owo Local Government Area.

The screening of the Commissioner nominees has, however, been shifted to today, Monday.

Also in the course of the week under review, no fewer than six separate bills which were hitherto at the various committee stages were passed into laws by the hallowed chamber.

The six bills are; Public Finance Management Law and a bill for a law to establish the state Board of Public Procurement and the Bureau of Public Procurement as the regulatory authorities responsible for the monitoring and oversight of Public Procurement and related matters.

Others included a bill for a law for the prudent management of Ondo state’s resources, to ensure longterm macro-economic stability of the state’s economy, secure greater accountability and transparency in fiscal operations within a longterm plan and medium term fiscal policy framework, and the establishment of a Fiscal Responsibility Committee to ensure achievement of the state’s economic objectives and other matters connected therewith as well AA a bill for a law to provide for the establishment of Ondo State Information Technology Agency (SITA) and related matters.

The rest are: a bill for a law to provide for the establishment of an independent office of the Auditor-General and provide for audit of public accounts and for other purposes ancillary thereto, and a bill for a law to establish the Ondo State Development and Investment Promotion Agency and to provide a regulatory framework and condusive environment for investment development, promotion and facilities in the state and other matters connected thereto.

One of the bills, Public Finance Management Law, was passed into law by the House on Thursday, while the other five were passed on Friday one after the other.

All the bills got unanimous consents of the lawmakers on the floor of the Assembly after the House had adopted the reports of various committees.

Still during the week, the hallowed chamber committed the 2017 budget of Ondo State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (OSOPADEC) to Finance and Appropriation and OSOPADEC Committees for scrutiny.

This followed exhaustive debate and contributions from lawmakers at the plenary sitting presided over by the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Bamidele Oleyelogun

The OSOPADEC budget has a total of fourteen billion, four hundred and two million, one hundred and ninety-five thousand, six hundred and seven naira, twenty-two kobo (14, 402, 195,607.22).

Out of the total budget, a sum of twelve billion, nine hundred and seventy-six million, six hundred and fifty thousand naira (12,976,650,000), from the 40% of the 13% Oil Derivation Fund was budgeted for Capital Expenditure, while the remaining one billion, four hundred and twenty-five million, five hundred and forty-five thousand, six hundred and seven naira, twenty-two kobo (1,425,545,607.22), for Recurrent Expenditure.

At the plenary sitting on Thursday, the Majority Leader of the House and lawmaker representing Akoko North-West State Constituency 2, Hon. Olugbenga Araoyinbo, while moving a motion for the bill to scale through the second reading described the bill as very important for the development of OSOPADEC mandate areas.

Related Posts

Comments are closed.

Follow Us on Twitter

Like Us